Overview Of The Liquor License Procedure

If you would like to open up a bar, nightclub, or sell liquor from your store, you will need to have a liquor license for your particular state. According to an Albert T Van Huff Atty lawyer, each state will have different requirements than others, making it very important that you follow the exact procedures that are required to get one. In some states, they will actually govern the sale, distribution, and the consumption of alcohol. If you have a bar, the state can dictate how many drinks you can serve one customer, and may also require you to keep unfinished bottles from going out the door. Let’s look at how you can get a liquor license by following these simple procedures.

Image result for liquor licensing

Understand The Liquor Laws Of Your State

To understand what is expected of you, and what the liquor license will cover, you need to consult with someone from the Alcohol Beverage Control agency. Although each one is called by the same name, each one will be differentiated by what the liquor license will entail. A problem that many businesses have is limitations on how many different businesses can have a liquor license in one particular area. These quotas are dictated by each state, and you must also know what type of liquor license you will need. This could be for a tavern, restaurant, or a store where you are selling beer and wine.

How To Apply For This License

After finding information about the rules and regulations associated with the liquor license that you will need, you need to apply for one. Filling out the application and is relatively easy, and you will also contact the ABC agency to get the right forms. Once you have filled the amount and submitted them to your state, as well as your county or town, it will go through a review process. They are notoriously slow at providing liquor licenses, so keep that in mind if it goes on for longer than 30 days. Be sure to provide all of the information they are requesting which will include personal background information, detailed info about your company, and your employee identification number. They may also request a certificate of title if you are the owner of a business complex, and they may even need to see a proposed food menu.

Once your license has been approved, you will be able to sell different types of liquor from your store, restaurant or bar. It is a tedious process, but it will be beneficial for your business as the sale of liquor tends to be extremely popular. Although the cost of getting a liquor license can be expensive, ranging from $12,000 to nearly $500,000, it will be well worth the cost. As long as you are in an area where you know that you will have a multitude of customers, having a liquor license will be beneficial for your business.

Moving to Texas? Here’s What You Need To Know About The Texas Liquor Law

Why can’t I purchase liquor on Sundays? Why are all the stores closed? Whether you just moved to Texas or spent the previous holidays in the area, you may have noticed that liquor stores were closed – considering that New Year’s and Christmas Days fell on a Sunday. According to a lawyer from Monshaugen & Van Huff, P.C., This is because of the Texas Liquor Law, which prohibits the majority of stores to sell liquor during Sundays.

Image result for some that are allowed to sell beer and wine on Sunday afternoonOriginally, it all started a long time ago when the majority of stores prohibited businesses to sell certain goods during Sundays – which is traditionally, a day that is meant to be spent for resting and Sabbath. Over the years, the rules and certain laws in Texas have changed, and the majority of these bans were lifted in 1985 – except for the restrictions on auto dealers and liquor.

While the blue law hasn’t been lifted, Senator Ellis has already begun introducing the legislation saying that Texas should start lifting the bans, along with 14 other states.

Most locals got used with the Texas Liquor Law, but if you’re planning on moving to Texas, or at least spending a vacation, and while the law on selling liquors during Sundays still hasn’t changed, has here are some things that you may want to take into consideration:

– If you have events planned on Sundays, make sure that you buy liquor on Saturday, or at least a few days before.

– Going out with your friends? Eating out? The current law states that restaurants and stores can sell wine and beer and can offer other alcoholic drinks only on Sunday afternoons. Make sure that you plan drinking out sessions with your buddies in the afternoon onwards.

– If you can’t make it during weekdays, you may find a few stores that are open, but mind you, they might not be selling hard liquor. You may find some that are allowed to sell beer and wine on Sunday afternoon.

While the Texas Liquor Law still hasn’t changed over the past few years, as a consumer, planning and buying spirits ahead of time is the best way around the problem. Some people don’t really want the hassle of lining up during Sunday afternoon.

Bottomline: Shop for spirits on weekdays, if not, Saturdays might be a little bit piled up, but stores are still open and it’s better than finding a closed store on Sunday. Planning ahead is the key, whether you have a small gathering with family, or you have an upcoming big event to celebrate with friends.