Overview Of The Liquor License Procedure

If you would like to open up a bar, nightclub, or sell liquor from your store, you will need to have a liquor license for your particular state. According to an Albert T Van Huff Atty lawyer, each state will have different requirements than others, making it very important that you follow the exact procedures that are required to get one. In some states, they will actually govern the sale, distribution, and the consumption of alcohol. If you have a bar, the state can dictate how many drinks you can serve one customer, and may also require you to keep unfinished bottles from going out the door. Let’s look at how you can get a liquor license by following these simple procedures.

Image result for liquor licensing

Understand The Liquor Laws Of Your State

To understand what is expected of you, and what the liquor license will cover, you need to consult with someone from the Alcohol Beverage Control agency. Although each one is called by the same name, each one will be differentiated by what the liquor license will entail. A problem that many businesses have is limitations on how many different businesses can have a liquor license in one particular area. These quotas are dictated by each state, and you must also know what type of liquor license you will need. This could be for a tavern, restaurant, or a store where you are selling beer and wine.

How To Apply For This License

After finding information about the rules and regulations associated with the liquor license that you will need, you need to apply for one. Filling out the application and is relatively easy, and you will also contact the ABC agency to get the right forms. Once you have filled the amount and submitted them to your state, as well as your county or town, it will go through a review process. They are notoriously slow at providing liquor licenses, so keep that in mind if it goes on for longer than 30 days. Be sure to provide all of the information they are requesting which will include personal background information, detailed info about your company, and your employee identification number. They may also request a certificate of title if you are the owner of a business complex, and they may even need to see a proposed food menu.

Once your license has been approved, you will be able to sell different types of liquor from your store, restaurant or bar. It is a tedious process, but it will be beneficial for your business as the sale of liquor tends to be extremely popular. Although the cost of getting a liquor license can be expensive, ranging from $12,000 to nearly $500,000, it will be well worth the cost. As long as you are in an area where you know that you will have a multitude of customers, having a liquor license will be beneficial for your business.

The Complexities Of Texas Liquor Law

They say that everything is bigger in Texas. That may be so – but it is also a place where getting an alcoholic beverage – or opening a distribution outlet for selling alcoholic beverages can be fraught with difficulty said a lawyer from Monshaugen & Van Huff. Liquor in Texas is a complex issue – for both the consumer and the retailer.

Texas liquor law is complex due in part to the sheer size of the territory that falls inside its boundaries. Texas is a Image result for liquor lawsbig place and 50 counties – which are dry, and each with their own laws in place makes it a bit more complex when it comes to the laws governing alcohol than other states in the Union.

So, just how complex are the laws in the state? More complex than you might think. Here’s a great example. In some counties, beer is an issue. It might be able to be sold in restaurants – but it cannot be sold in stores where food is not served.

Here’s a great example of just how complex that Texas law can be. Drive into a town and get yourself a six pack of beer. Then drive a bit further and remember that a bottle of wine is required for that social occasion.

Guess what – you are in part of town that is completely dry. That bottle of wine will simply not be available.

Then it gets Texas complicated. The age of consent for drinking is another issue. The folk behind the bar can serve alcohol if they are 18 years or older – or is it 16? It all depends on where you are. But those laws only apply to beer and wine – hard spirits require that the person selling then be 21 years old – or older. It becomes terribly complicated for those who are in the hospitality industry. Or for those who are in search of a job.

But there is also another complication – purchasing alcohol. In line with state laws across the United States, the purchase of alcohol by those under the age of 21 is simply prohibited. For those from other countries in the world, this might be puzzling – but there are no exceptions. If you are the holder of a foreign passport be under no illusions – it provides you with no protection. Ignorance is no excuse under Texas law.

If you are going to be visiting the state – educate yourself before taking a sip in the local watering hole – Texas liquor law is complex, you will be glad you did your research.